City of High Point

The City operates under the council-manager form of government. The City’s governing body, the City Council is composed of one Mayor and eight (8) Council members, each of whom is elected by the qualified voters of the city to serve for a term of four (4) years. The City Council hires the City Manager, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the City and is responsible for the execution of Council policy and for the management of all City departments and services.