Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County

The City of Athens was incorporated in 1806 by an act of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia. The City was the county seat of Clarke County, Georgia, which was established by an act of the General Assembly in 1801. The unification of the City of Athens and Clarke County in 1991 resulted in the creation and establishment of the Athens-Clarke County Unified Government (the “Unified Government” or ACCGOV), a single countywide government with powers and jurisdiction throughout the territorial limits of Clarke County, superseding and replacing the governments of the former city and the county. The Unified Government is a strong Manager form of government, governed by a Mayor and 10-mem